Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
You are viewing documentation of TeamCity 6.5.x, which is not the most recent released version of TeamCity. Please refer to the listing to choose another version.
Search

Table of Contents

On this page:

Managing Users

Creating a new user

The Create user account link is available on the Administration | Users and Groups page only if the default authentication scheme is used. For NT and LDAP authentication schemes, the list of users coincides with the domain user database.
When creating a user account, only username and password are required. Any new user is automatically added to the All Users group and inherits roles and permissions defined for this group.
If you don't use per-project permissions, you can specify here whether a user should have administrative permissions or not. Otherwise, you can assign roles to new user later.

Editing user account

To edit/delete a user account click its name on the Users tab of the Administration | Users and Groups page.

General settings and Version Control Username Settings
Depending on the authentication scheme, username can be editable or read-only. If the default authentication scheme is selected, you can modify user's name. If another authentication schemes is used, the user name can be edited only by the system administrator. If needed, modify here user's full name, email address and password.
The Version Control Username Settings pane allows to view default usernames for different VCS used by the current user. The names set here will be used to show builds with changes committed by a user with such VCS username on the My Changes page. Also, such builds can be highlighted on the Projects page, etc.
Groups
Use this tab to review the groups the user belongs to, and add/remove user from groups.
Roles
This tab is available only if per-project permissions are enabled at Server Configuration page.
Use this tab to view the roles assigned to the user directly and inherited from groups. The roles assigned directly can be modified/removed here.
Notification Rules
Please, refer to Subscribing to Notifications for details.

Assigning roles to users

Icon

To be able to grant roles to users on per-project basis, enable per-project permissions on the Administration|Server Configuration page.

There are several ways to assign roles to one or several users:

  • To assign a role to a specific user, on the Users tab for the user click View roles in the corresponding column. In the Roles tab, click Assign role.
  • To assign a role to multiple users, on the Users tab select users and click More Actions - Assign roles to the selected users.
  • To assign a role to all users in a group, on the Groups tab click View roles for the group in question, then assign role on a group level.
    When assigning a role, you can:
  • Select whether a role should be granted globally, or in particualr projects.
  • Replace existing roles with newly selected. This will remove all roles assigned to user(s)/group and replace them with the selected one instead.

Managing User Groups

Creating a new group

Open the Administration | Users and Groups page, and go to the Groups tab. Click Create new group.
When creating a group, you can select parent group(s) for it. All roles and notification rules configured for the parent group will be automatically assigned to the current group. To place current group to the top level, deselect all groups in the list.

Editing Group settings

To edit a group click its name on the Groups tab. For a group you can modify the list of users, roles and permissions and notification settings.

Icon

The All Users group includes all users and cannot be deleted. However, you can modify its roles and notification settings.

Roles tab allows you to view and edit (assign/unassign) default roles for the current group. These roles will be automatically assigned to all users in the group.
Default roles for a user group are divided in two groups:

  • roles inherited from a parent group. Inherited roles can not be unassigned from the group.
  • roles assigned explicitly to the group

To assign a role for the current group explicitly, click the Assign role link.
To view permissions granted to a role, click View roles permissions link.
You can also specify notification rules to be applied to all users in current group. To learn more about notification rules, please refer to Subscribing to Notifications.

Adding multiple users to a group

On the Users and Groups page, select the users, click the Add selected users to groups link, and check the groups where these users should be added. Note, that all these users will inherit roles defined for the group.



See also: