Versions Compared


  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Comment: Migrated to Confluence 4.0


You can specify the checkout directory when configuring Checkout Settings on the Version Control Settings page, however, default (empty) value is recommended. See #Custom checkout directory.
If not specified, automatically created directory is used with a generated name: <Agent Work Directory>/<VCS settings hash code>. The VCS settings hash code is calculated based on VCS roots and VCS settings used by the build configuration. Effectively, this means that the directory is shared between all the build configurations with the same VCS settings.


If for some reason you need to specify custom checkout directory (for example, the process of creating builds depends on some particular directory), please ensure that the following conditions are met:

  • the checkout directory is not shared between build configurations with different VCS settings (otherwise TeamCity will perform clean checkout each time another build configuration is built int he directory);
  • the content of the directory is not modified by other processes than a single TeamCity agent (otherwise TeamCity might be unable to ensure consistent incremental sources update). If this cannot be eliminated, make sure to turn on clean build checkout option for all the participating build configurations. This rule also applies to two TeamCity agents sharing the same working directory. As one TeamCity agent has no knowledge of another, another agent is appearing as an external process to it.

Please also note that content of the checkout directory can be deleted by TeamCity under certain circumstances.


Checkout directories are automatically deleted from disk if not used (no builds were run on the agent using the directory as checkout directory) for a specified period of time (8 days by default).

Wiki Markup
}old section name for obsolete anchors:{hidden-data}
Cleaning Directory in Background
Cleaning Directory in Background
Please also see ensuring free disk space case when the checkout directory can be cleaned automatically.)

The time frame for automatic directory expiration can be changed by specifying new value (in hours) by either of the following ways:

Setting the property to "0" will cause deleting the checkout directories right after the build finish.
Setting the property to "never" will let TeamCity know that the directory should never be deleted by TeamCity.
Setting the property to "default" will enforce using the default value.

The directory cleaning is performed in background and can be paused by consequent builds.

See also:


Administrator's Guide: Configuring VCS Settings