You are viewing documentation for the older version of YouTrack!
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This page contains basic information about YouTrack's Workflow feature, which allows you to customize and automate an issue's lifecycle.

What's the YouTrack Workflow?

In YouTrack, a workflow is a set of rules, which can be attached to a project to define a lifecycle of the project's issues.

Please note that you should have administrator permissions to edit and attach workflow.

To create and edit workflows and rules, you should use YouTrack Workflow Editor, an MPS-based application designed specifically to develop and upload workflows to your YouTrack server.

When a new workflow is created, you will need to attach this workflow to a project, and activate needed rules. A workflow can contain several rules, but in different projects you might need different combinations of rules activated. For such cases YouTrack allows you to attach one workflow to several projects and enable/disable rules for each project individually.

Workflow Rules

The following workflow rule types are available:

  • Stateless Rule — a simple rule which defines an action to be performed upon a change made for an issue, depending on a condition.
    A sample stateless rule in the Workflow Editor:
  • State-machine Rule — a rule to define transitions between some states of an issue. A state here is not only a 'State' field of an issue, but any field of an issue which can have a defined transitions from one value to another. However, the most obvious and most often used state-machine rule is about transitions between values of the State field.
    A sample statemachine rule in the Workflow Editor:
  • Scheduled Rule — a rule to define scheduled events depending on a condition. For example, periodically check for issues with certain attribute values and notify a user.
    A sample scheduled rule in the Workflow Editor:

For more details on rule samples, please visit the Workflow Rules page.

Default and User-Created Workflows

YouTrack comes bundled with a number of predefined default workflows, which are intended to cover the most general use cases. For example, automatic assigning an issue to a subsystem owner or processing issue duplicates.

Please note, that some of predefined default workflows are auto-attached, that is: Such default workflows will be attached automatically to any newly created project.

You can either adjust default workflows to your actual use cases or create your own ones. Edited default workflows can be rolled back to their initial state via Restore default workflows option in the Administration > Workflow section of your server's web UI.

Labels:
workflow workflow Delete
overview overview Delete
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.