A History Build is a build that starts after the build with more recent changes. That is, a history build is a build that distracts normal builds flow according to source revisions order.
A build may become a history build in the following situations:
- If you initiate a build on particular changes manually using Run Custom Build dialog.
- If you have a VCS trigger with quiet period set. During this quiet period other user can start a build with more recent changes. In this case, automatically triggered build will have older source revision when it starts, and will be marked as history build.
- If there are several builds of the same configuration in the build queue and they have fixed revisions (e.g. they are part of a Build Chain. If someone manually re-orders these builds, the build with fewer changes can be started first.
As the history build does not reflect the current state of the sources, the following restrictions apply to its processing:
- status of a history build does not affect build configuration status.
- a user does not get notification about history build unless they subscribed to notifications on all builds in the build configuration.
- history build is not shown on the Projects or Build Configuration > Overview page as the last finished build of a configuration
- investigation option is not available for history builds.